Buenos Aires - - Thursday 06 De August

Home Travel 11 Argentine destinations that are World Heritage Sites

11 Argentine destinations that are World Heritage Sites

For your next trip, how about choosing one of the 11 Argentine sites that were chosen as a UNESCO World Heritage Site?


When choosing a destination for our trip, we can take into account several factors. But how about visiting sites that have been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO? In Argentina we have 11 destinations that have been included in that list.

The designation as a World Heritage Site means that these places, in addition to being relevant as cultural heritage or natural of the country, are considered in the interest of the international community and must be preserved for future generations. The objective of the Organization's the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is cataloguing, preserving and publicizing sites of exceptional cultural or natural importance for the common heritage of mankind.

These are the 11 Argentine destinations declared World Heritage Site:

1. Los Glaciares National Park (Santa Cruz)

Natural asset registered in 1981

“ Los Glaciares National Park is a site of exceptional natural beauty with impressive clipped peaks and numerous glacial lakes, such as Lake Argentino, which is 160 kilometers long. At the end of this, three glaciers converge, precipitating huge icebergs into their icy milky grey waters, in the midst of a thunderous noise.”

2. Guaraní Jesuit Missions (Missions)

Good. cultural heritage registered in 1984.

“ In the very heart of the rainforest are the ruins of five Jesuit missions: San Miguel de las Misiones (Brazil), San Ignacio Miní, Santa Ana, Nuestra Señora de Loreto and Santa María la Mayor (Argentina). Built in Guaraní territory during the 17th and 18th centuries, these missions are characterized by their specific layout and unequal state of conservation.”

3. Iguazu National Park (Misiones)

Natural asset registered in 1984.

“ In the heart of this park is the Iguazu Waterfall. Formed by a semicircular basallion 80 meters high and 2700 meters wide, the waterfall forms the border between Argentina and Brazil and is one of the most spectacular in the world. Divided into multiple waterfalls from which enormous mists emanate. The surrounding subtropical rainforest is home to more than 2000 species of vascular plants and the typical fauna of the region: tapirs, giant anteaters, howler monkeys, ocelots, jaguars and alligators.”

4. Cave of the Hands (Santa Cruz)

Cultural property registered in 1999.

“ The Cave of the Hands of the River Paintings

Publication Date: 09/03/2020

Rate this item


I wrote! Reader Notes

Go to section


There are not comments

Leave feedback


Cinco santafesinas que hicieron historia Five Santafesinas who made history

In this note we remember five Santafesinas who did very important things for the history of the city...

 Exposición Rural Histórico: un año sin la Rural

Por primera vez en 134 años, la exposición fue suspendida por la pandemia y se realizará en 2021.

Argentines around the world
Masterpiece Daniel Strekier “Am I going to New Zealand or buy a van?”

“He who conforms loses,” Daniel thought, and traveled to New Zealand. The story of a missionary dete...

Verify to Continue Christian Sancho participated in “Mateando con Amigos”

Among laughter and anecdotes, the Argentine actor and model submitted himself to “El Questionnaire A...


I want to be up to date

Subscribe to our newsletter and I received the latest news