Skip to main content

Messi is The Best

Lionel Messi finally won the prize he lacked: The Best. Granted by vote, best player of the year. Bravo Mio!
Lionel Messi se alzó finalmente con el premio que le faltaba
| 24 September, 2019 |

The star Lionel Messi regained today the throne of best player in the world. With his first FIFA Best Award. At the ceremony that took place at the historic La Scala theater in Milan, Italy. And he had the presence of the Argentine team’s crack accompanied by his family.

The historic scorer of the Argentine national team beat in the terna with Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus of Italy. And Dutch defender Virgil van Dijk of Liverpool of England. Who won the Champions League last season, scored in the foreplay as the top favorite.

“ Individual awards are a secondary thing for me. The important ones are the collectives. But it’s a special night because my wife and children are here.” He pointed out Messi to each of the guests at The Best.

The captain was accompanied by his wife Antonela Roccuzzo and Thiago and Mateo. “Cyrus couldn’t come, three was already a lot, but I dedicate it to them. Enjoying this award with my children is something unique,” added “La Flea”.

His story in the award

After being out of the podium in 2018, Messi returned to the world front page. Despite not having won the World Cup with Argentina in Russia. Nor have achieved the European Champions League with Barcelona from Spain.

The 32-year-old Rosarino was the owner of the world football throne in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015. When the prize had different formats. He finally paid off the debt to The Best, which was established by FIFA since 2016.

When he was named FIFA Player of the Year, the left-handed took the stage as a winner in 2009. Being the first Argentine in history to do so. And the following times he received the FIFA Golden Ball. Award that was awarded jointly with the prestigious magazine France Football.

With the new format The Best, it was second in 2016 and 2017. Below Cristiano Ronaldo. And in 2018, whose winner was the Croatian Luka Modric, did not enter the terna and finished fifth.

The election by Messi came out of a vote that took place between July 31 and August 19. It was attended by fans, journalists, coaches and captains of the selected FIFA.

Other The best

The second Argentine to win an award in the Italian evening was another Rosarino, Marcelo Bielsa. Who received along with Leeds United the Fair Play for letting Aston Villa convert a goal.

The Dutch Sari van Veenendaal, captain of her selected, was the best archer, a distinction that was awarded for the first time.

The Puskás award for best goal came to Hungarian youth Daniel Zsori. Who surpassed Messi and River Plate Colombian Juan Fernando Quintero. For his Chilean goal with Debreceni of Hungary.

American Jill Ellis was chosen as the best coach in the world. His work led his country’s national team to victory in the last World Cup helped by the work of Megan Rapinoe. Who won the award of best player in the world.

The ideal men’s team for The Best was composed by: Alisson; De Ligt, Sergio Ramos, Van Dijk, Marcelo; Modric, De Jong, Hazard; Mbappé, Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Source AFA

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like