Ser Argentino. All about Argentina

What did they go out?

Obras beat Boca for the last date of the group stage of Super 20. The outcome of the game generated a great controversy. What happened? Let's see.

 Obras  beat Boca  109-108 on Monday in Núñez for the last date of the group stage of Super 20. The outcome of the game generated a great controversy. What happened? Let's see.

The context before the match was as follows: in the group there were two places left for the qualification and three teams fighting for those two passages to the next phase:  Obras, Boca and Ferro  (which before the match we are mentioning had already lost with San Lorenzo). To pass,  Boca  needed a win by more than six points, otherwise  Obras  achieved his pass to the round of 16.

In the final second of the match,  Works  loses by 2. In what can be nothing but an error of understanding the situation, draw. Why a mistake? Because if he let him finish 72 to 74 against, he managed to qualify ( Boca  did not reach the 6 points advantage he needed).

At the end of the first supplementary, the blue and gold set won 93 to 92, a result that was not useful for the aforementioned. And here begins the controversy: they decide to commit a foul to generate that  Works  has a free kick and draw. Núñez's team gets the first and fails the second. Then  Boca  also has two free throws to win it, but as it didn't suit him, he throws to err and generates the second supplementary.

At the end of this second supplementary  Boca  is 106 to 105.  Obras  are awarded two free throws, put both and 107 to 106, there  Boca  puts a double: 108 to 107 in favor. But, as we already explained, this result does not reach him, so they decide to commit 4 technical fouls in a row so that Works draw and look for a third supplementary. Works, now if reading the game accurately, throw to err all 4: losing by one passed. Finally, after a scene from Almodóvar,  Boca  gives him the chance to play  Works  , which gets two free kicks. Instead of throwing to err, and losing but passing phase, they play it and convert both: if they won they not only qualify but were better positioned in the group.

The discussion was about whether they came out to win or not. I think so: both were smart teams and knew how to play with the rules:  Boca  sought to get a draw that would award a supplementary to look for the difference in points he needed to avoid the repechage and  Works  , in the end, he missed the free throws to avoid the tie that gave the chance to  Mouth . But at the same time, when he had a chance to win it with two shots he did it. I want to emphasize that not all athletes know “play with the rules”, and it is something that I admire and I am pleased to see in any sport.

Rating: 2.50/5.