I wrote! Reader NotesGo to section
The old Palace of Justice, the Normal School No. 2 and the former Police Headquarters, reference buildings of a past architecture.
In the midst of the daily vertigo that we travel through, sometimes we do not notice seeing and observing buildings that make the history of our city. Only in recent years have they been preserved a little more and there are ordinances in this regard. Remembering an expression by Hegel: “Everyday, everyday, does not attract attention and is therefore unknown”, in Rosario it is inexorably fulfilled. In the past, the pickaxe took with it, relentlessly, buildings full of history, meaning and beauty. But the passage of time has increased the conservationist trend. That is why there are still real architectural wonders that adorn the streets of Rosario .
The idea of its construction was by Catalan Juan Canals who started it in 1889, through a project by the architect and engineer H. Boyd Walker. His builder offered to carry out the work on condition that he would be granted the operation of an office for 30 years. On the tower exhibited a unique clock in the country that was brought from Paris and that was similar to other existing in Berlin and Moscow.
On the side facades there are sculptures by Domingo Fontana and the interior was decorated by the famous painter Luis Levoni. It is a unique example of the eclectic trend of the end of the century. It is implanted in half a block from an “E” scheme, with a central body and wings that enclose two courtyards surrounded by galleries. The composition of the facade expresses the profusion of elements of the French and Italian language.
Composition that offers an interesting sample of iconology and symbolism . While on the outer side facades are develop important loggias, both on the ground floor and on the upper floor, in the main facade the “harmony aesthetic” is marked by the incoming and outgoing ones that are rhythming the different planes. The classic mansard, crowned by zinc ridges, finishes the roof of the pavilions that, on the main facade, flank the large clock tower, an element that marks the symmetry of the work and that is constituted in the most significant not only of the building but also as a reference for the city. The building was enabled in the early months of 1892 while still in work.
From its establishment until 1960 it was the seat of the Provincial Courts of Rosario, also accommodating the headquarters of the Bar Association and the Bar Association.
In 1905 the block was completed with the construction of the former Normal School No. 2 “Juan Maria Gutiérrez”, today Provincial School No. 35. The project was from the engineer French Augustus Plou. In 1910, the country was preparing for the celebrations of the great May anniversary in its first century and in its homage, in different parts of the Republic were to open the doors of twenty teacher training schools. The Normal School No. 2 is is part of the history of the nation's normal schools, which were created with a mission: train teachers to educate new generations of an immigrant population increasingly numerous in Argentine society.<
Publication Date: 28/12/2019
There are not comments
Two great liberators who shared the command of the patriotic armies face to face in a fact that mark...
The driver talked to Serargentino.com. He spoke of tastes, passions and his present in Miami, after...
A marriage of casildendes shows us what it is like to leave the interior of Santa Fe to live on adve...
The Guaraní Mbyá community had its own celebration this week and is called Ara Pyahú. Let's get to k...