Argentine Presidents - Carlos Saúl Menem - I (1990-1995) - History - Ser Argentino Skip to main content

Argentine Presidents – Carlos Saúl Menem – I (1990-1995)

Born in Anillaco, La Rioja, on July 2, 1930.
| 11 October, 2019 |

Synthesis – Biography

Carlos Saúl Menem

Born in Anillaco, La Rioja, on July 2, 1930.

Married to Zulema Yoma. After divorce, she marries Cecilia Bolocco.

President of the Argentine Nation.

Vice-President: EDUARDO ALBERTO DUHALDE (resignation 1991).

Mandate: 8 July 1989 to 10 December 1995.


  • Privatization and/or concession of numerous state companies and the road network.
  • Abolition of part of medium- and long-distance passenger rail services.
  • Administrative reform of the State. Renewal of diplomatic relations with the United Kingdom.
  • Abandonment of the Non-Aligned Movement.
  • Extension from five to nine members of the Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation.
  • I pardon military leaders and guerrilla leaders.
  • Subscription of the Southern Common Market document (MERCO.SUR.).
  • Law of Convertibility. Currency exchange. Strong low inflation and GDP growth.
  • Deregulation of the economy. I join the Brady Plan.
  • National Population Census.
  • Completion of the project “Condor II”.
  • Law on Women’s Quota for Elective Offices.
  • National Employment Act.
  • Inauguration of the building of the National Library.
  • Act to introduce a new system of private retirements.
  • End of compulsory military service.
  • The Pact of Olives, giving rise to the Constitutional Reform, which allows re-election.


  • Interior: Eduardo Bauzá. Julio Mera Figueroa. José Luis Manzano. Gustavo Beliz. Carlos Federico Ruckauf. Charles Vladimiro Corach.
  • Justice, Security and Human Rights: León Carlos Arslanián. Jorge Luis Maiorano. Rodolfo Carlos Barra.
  • U.S.R. International Trade and Worship: Domingo Felipe Cavallo. Guido Di Tella.
  • Economy and Production: Angel Roig. Néstor Rapanelli, Antonio Erman Gonzalez. Domingo Felipe Cavallo.
  • Health and Environment: Julio Corzo. Alberto Kohan. Avelino Porto. Antonio Erman Gonzalez. Edward Bauza.
  • Labour, Employment and Social Security: Jorge Triacca. Rodolfo Diaz. Enrique Osvaldo Rodriguez. Armando Caro Figueroa.
  • Education: Antonio Salonia. Jorge Alberto Rodriguez.
  • Works and Public Services: Roberto José Dromi.
  • Defense: Italo Argentino Luder. Humberto Romero. Guido Di Tella. Antonio Erman Gonzalez. Oscar Camilion.


No votes yet.
Please wait...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like